Reference Help Available Today:
Search the library's holdings for education-related materials using the Discover Resources search box. The library's holdings include about 1800 online education titles. These are included in the catalog, or you can search them directly through:
The library also has a collection of children's literature and materials for the K-12 curriculum located on the 5th floor. They are included in the catalog too. If searching the DBL library in WorldCat Discovery does not turn up an item you want, go to the left-hand column and change the "Held By Library" selection to "Libraries Worldwide." Click the title of the work you want, and then click "Request Item Through Interlibrary Loan." Note that the library cannot borrow complete e-books, but can borrow electronic articles and usually e-book chapters. Most items arrive in 3 days to 3 weeks (in general, copies of articles arrive more quickly than physical items like books).
Download FREE ebooks in PDF format from National Academies Press. You do have to create an account to download them, but it is free! (The prices shown are if you want to buy a hard-copy edition instead of the free download.)
Reference books are located on the first floor of the library and have an R preceding the call number. These books cannot be checked out, but you can read, scan to email, or photocopy articles from them; just ask a library staff member if you need help with scanning or photocopying!
Contemporary Perspectives and Research on Early Childhood Education by
This book enhances the understanding of different approaches to curriculum and instruction; appropriate assessment strategies; the role of math and science in children's development; the importance of seeing the whole child and ensuring children develop holistically through play and arts; training effective teachers; and the importance of helping parents to be better supporters of their children.
Early Childhood Education by
As a groundbreaking contribution to its field, this four-volume handbook discusses key historical and contemporary issues, research, theoretical perspectives, national policies, and practices.
Encyclopedia of American Education by
Contains more than 2,000 entries spanning the colonial period to the present. This authoritative three-volume reference provides a wealth of up-to-date information on virtually every aspect of education, from the evolution of school curriculum, education funding, and church-state controversies to the latest debates on multiculturalism, prayer in school, and sex education.
Encyclopedia of Education
This fully-revised second edition offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include 140 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full-text primary source documents including education-related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.
The Greenwood Dictionary of Education by
This book defines over 3,000 terms from the field of education to assist those charged with teaching students to become global citizens in a rapidly changing, technological society.
Requirements for Certification of Teachers, Counselors, Librarians, Administrators for Elementary and Secondary Schools, 81 Edition 2016-2017 by
This annual volume offers the most complete and current listings of the requirements for certification of a wide range of educational professionals at the elementary and secondary levels. Requirements for Certification is a valuable resource, making much-needed knowledge available in one straightforward volume.
The Child: An Encyclopedic Companion by
The Child: An Encyclopedic Companion offers both parents and professionals access to the best scholarship from all areas of child studies in a one-volume reference.
Browsing the shelves is another good option. Books are arranged by Dewey Decimal numbers:
Dewey Decimal Numbers for Education
370 Education
371 Schools & their activities; Special education
372 Elementary education
373 Secondary education
374 Adult education
375 Curricula
378 Higher Education
379 Public policy issues in education
Locations for education materials
1st floor: Reference
2nd floor: Professional Development Collection
3rd floor: Circulating Collection
5th floor: Curriculum Collection
5th floor: Children's Literature Collection
5th floor: Oversize Collection (for items too tall for regular shelves)
Basement Storage: older circulating materials and journals
The Children’s Literature Collection on the 5th floor of the library includes books written for children and young adults. You can use the search box below to locate items in that collection by entering an author, title, or keywords and clicking the Search button.
For more children’s books, search Libraries Worldwide (instead of just the Dulaney-Browne Library) and use the Advanced search screen to limit the Audience to "Juvenile". These books are usually available through Interlibrary Loan and may also be available from the Metropolitan Library System of Oklahoma County or at local bookstores.
Curriculum materials are located on the 5th floor of the library. The easiest way to see what the library has is to come to the library and physically browse the shelves. You can also use the search box below to locate items in the Curriculum Collection by entering an author, title, or keywords and clicking the Search button.
