Reference Help Available Today:
Go to the "Articles" tab for information on the best databases to use for finding articles on your topic. To find the best places to search and suggested sources for the course in which you're enrolled, go to the "Spring 2024" courses tab.
Library databases are a major source of high quality information on education and related topics. These include descriptions of of articles published in education research journals, education magazines, and journals in related fields that provide some of the most dependable and up-to-date information available.
The library's collection of books, both physical and e-books, provides longer works on established practices in the field and may be of particular use to those preparing to teach. The library also has a Curriculum Collection and a Children's Literature Collection, both located on the 5th floor.
The open web can also provide useful and high quality information and lesson plans, although each new website should be examined carefully to verify the authority of the author, the point of view or bias of the sponsor, and the quality of the information.
Many of the sources linked in this guide are purchased by the library for your use. When you click on these links from a computer not connected through the campus network you will need to identify yourself by entering your campus network username and password. This is the same username and password as you use to access BlueLink.
Use the tabs above for more detailed instructions.
Please remember always to cite the source where you obtained your information, according to the rules in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. For quick help, see the online guide offered by Purdue University as well as the APA's own tutorial.
The print version is available in the reference section (1st floor) and on permanent reserve (ask at front desk).
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. It is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Ambitious Science Teaching by
Ambitious Science Teaching outlines a powerful framework for science teaching to ensure that instructions is rigorous and equitable for students from all backgrounds. The practices presented in the book are being used in schools and districts that seek to improve science teaching at scale, and a wide range of science subjects and grade levels are represented. The book is organized around four sets of core teaching practices: planning for engagement with big ideas; eliciting student thinking; supporting changes in students'; thinking; and drawing together evidence-based explanations. Discussion of each practice includes tools and routines that teachers can use to support students' participation, transcripts of actual student-teacher dialogue and descriptions of teachers' thinking as it unfolds, and examples of student work. The book also provides explicit guidance for "opportunity to learn" strategies that can help scaffold the participation of diverse students.
Between the Commas by
For too long, sentence instruction has been heavy on correctness and terminology (as in "mind your grammar") and light on play and experimentation. Or it has been abandoned altogether. In this lively book, Marty Brandt sets out to change all that. It is partly the story of a teacher hitting a plateau in mid-career, deeply frustrated by the flatness of his students' writing, particularly as they struggled with more academic tasks. But it also tells the story of important but neglected research in sentence instruction, which Brandt revives, reinventing his instruction by explicitly teaching the possibilities of sentences.
Don't Gossip in the Teachers' Lounge by
200 tips to help the beginning elementary school teacher learn the inter-workings of school relationships, acquire classroom management strategies, learn effective parent communication techniques, gain knowledge of how to conduct themselves with the utmost professionalism, become aware of vital school ethics expectations, learn how to create a positive learning environment and acquire an understanding of how vital it is to preserve the dignity of each child at all cost.
Hearing Their Voices: Teaching History to Students of Color by
This book is about what teachers need to know before they teach history to students of color. It is a book about the 'inside feel' of these students and what they think and say history is for, based on research in the United States with reflections on the United Kingdom. It gives history teachers a better understanding of why culturally relevant pedagogy, inclusion and issues surrounding diversity are of crucial importance if we are to reach these students. We live in a world where many multicultural students think they have little connection with the histories, traditions and values in which they have grown up, some look toward groups who promise them a sense of belonging and ownership of created histories which clash with and threaten democratic societies. This book begins with the belief that it is important to understand how a subject, history, makes non-White students think and feel about themselves. At its center are assertions made by students of color who think learning history that is rich in aspects they can connect with culturally and personally, is important and necessary in gaining and holding their attention. Then I make suggestions of how we best communicate and set high expectations for these students, how as history teachers we use strategies to better engage these students, and redirect the unengaged. We need to make sure history educators provide necessary and appropriate scaffolding for students of colour to better process what they learn in history lessons, making sure they are engaged in higher-order thinking in an equitable safe environment where they see and know that their diversities are respected and valued.
How Children Learn: Getting Beyond the Deficit Myth by
The inspirational stories of young learners in this book discredit assumptions behind recent educational reforms, including high stakes testing and No Child Left Behind policies.
Inclusion: The Dream and the Reality Inside Special Education by
Inclusion: The Dream and the Reality in Special Education is a book about laws and practices that impact the inclusion of students with disabilities in public schools.
