Dulaney-Browne Library: Energy Programs: Articles

Why Articles?

Scholarly journal articles are great for:

research reports
current information
narrow topics
information for experts

Popular magazine and newspaper articles cover:

news reports
information for the general public

Energy Databases

Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities Maintains current information on the addresses, phone, e-mail and websites for a large number of journals. Also, the company seeks to provide information on publication guidelines and review information. The Meinders School of Business provides access to the Cabell’s Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Accounting, Economics and Finance, Management, and Marketing.
GreenFile Environmental studies journal and magazine article and government document database. Some articles are full-text, others may be available in the library or through Interlibrary Loan.

Searching for Articles

The most current research in most fields will be found in journal articles.

EBSCOhost includes many databases both general and specific to various academic disciplines. To start with a broad search,click the link below, type a search in the box, and click the Search button. Or, you can click on one of the links in the database list box to search just a specific database.

JSTOR provides access to a broad array of journal articles, but generally excludes the most recent 5 years of articles.

Full text journal articles are included in the library's Discovery system, but searching EBSCOhost will also find descriptions of articles that are not immediately available but can be requested through Interlibrary Loan. This process generally takes 3-5 working days.

EBSCOhost
JSTOR Multi-disciplinary scholarly journal article database including botany, humanities, education, history, social science, political science, social science, music, business, and statistics. Most articles are 5 years old or older. Default search limits to content we own, other items may be available in the library or through Interlibrary Loan.

Selected Energy Journals

Energy Journal Original, refereed articles and shorter papers devoted to the dissemination of knowledge concerning energy and related topics and book reviews and reviews of topical national and international government reports which assess energy policy and prospects.
Energy Law Journal Providing thought-provoking & deeply researched articles by practitioners, internationally known academics, federal judges, high ranking federal agency officials, including the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC).
Energy, Sustainability and Society An interdisciplinary forum for research, development & implementation of sustainable energy systems.
Environmental Law As the nation’s oldest law review dedicated solely to environmental issues, Environmental Law is a premier legal forum for environmental and natural resources scholarship.
Environmental Law Review Discussion of current & developing ideas in environmental law. Dialogue between leading edge practitioners & academics in the fields of environmental law, environmental management & business.
International Journal of Energy & Environment The journal aims to provide a complete and reliable source of information on current developments in the fields of energy and environment.
Journal of Energy Journal of Energy is a peer-reviewed, Open Access journal that publishes original research articles as well as review articles relating to the science and technology of energy generation, distribution, storage, and management. It also publishes studies into the environmental, societal, and economic impacts of energy use and policy.

Additional Journal Information

Many citations in the sciences use standardized abbreviations for journal titles. You will need the full title in order to request interlibrary loan and you may need the standard abbreviation for your own citations.

Genamics Journal Seek
provides information on journal titles including full titles from abbreviations or abbreviations from full titles

Limit to Scholarly & Full Text

EBSCOhost Full Text, Peer Reviewed (Scholarly), and Date Limits are under the search box

Getting to full text

The PDF icon should open Adobe Reader and show the full text of the article as originally published.

"Access options" vary. Click on the down arrow to see them.

PDF opens in the Adobe Reader (as above)

Online full text may link to the full article in HTML format, or may require a purchase to see the full article.

"ILL" or "Interlibrary Loan" service is free to OCU students, faculty, and staff. Articles usually take 3 - 5 days. The library staff requests the article from another library and then emails it to you.

"Find Full Text" searches the library's Discovery System for the article and offers a link to Interlibrary Loan if no immediate free options are found.

Database Citation Creators

Look for the 'cite' option

choose your citation style
highlight
copy
paste
proofread!