Reference Help Available Today:
Search the library's holdings (the Library Catalog) using the Discover Resources search box on this page. The library's holdings include both physical books and hundreds of online titles on business-related topics. These are included in the catalog, or you can search for online titles directly through:
You can also use WorldCat Discovery to search the library collections of many of the world's libraries. If searching the DBL library does not turn up an item you want, go to the left-hand column and change the "Held By Library" selection to "Libraries Worldwide." Click the title of the work you want, and then click "Request Item Through Interlibrary Loan." Note that the library cannot borrow complete e-books, but can borrow electronic articles and usually e-book chapters. Most items arrive in 3 days to 3 weeks (in general, copies of articles arrive more quickly than physical items like books).
Reference books are located on the first floor of the library and have an R preceding the call number. These books cannot be checked out, but you can read, scan to email, or photocopy articles from them; just ask a library staff member if you need help with scanning or photocopying!
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios by
The Almanac gives you accurate performance data for 50 operating and financial factors in 199 industries. Data for each industry is divided into 13 categories based on company size, so you'll find a precise benchmark against which to measure any company's performance.
Business Statistics of the United States by
Business Statistics of the United States is a comprehensive and practical collection of data from as early as 1890 that reflects the nation's economic performance. It provides over 80 years of annual, quarterly, and monthly data in industrial and demographic detail including key indicators such as: gross domestic product, personal income, spending, saving, employment, unemployment, the capital stock, and more.
The Concise Handbook of Management by
The Concise Handbook of Management: A Practitioner's Approach gives you an overview of everything you need to know about managing in one practical, concise book.
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance by
Designed for the nonspecialist, the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance is a 2-vol. complete reference covering five general areas: finance and banking; accounting; marketing; management; and information systems.
Encyclopedia of Human Resource Management by
This one–of–a–kind and all–in–one print and online encyclopedia offers access to information on all manner of topics and issues related to the "people" side of business.
Encyclopedia of Management by
This updated fifth edition of Encyclopedia of Management covers more than 300 topics in management theories and applications, written by academics and business professionals.
The McGraw-Hill Handbook of Business Letters by
Revised, expanded, and updated to meet the demands of doing business in the Digital Age with sample letters, e-mail, and voice messages.
Browsing the shelves is another good option. Books are arranged by Dewey Decimal numbers:
Dewey Decimal Numbers for energy and related topics:
174 Economic & professional ethics
330 Economics
333 Land economics
338 Production
340 Law
343 Military, tax, trade, industrial law
347 Civil procedure & courts
348 Law (Statutes), regulations, cases
349 Law of specific jurisdictions & areas
380 Commerce, communications, transport
530 Physics
540 Chemistry and allied sciences
550 Earth sciences
551 Geology, hydrology, meteorology
552 Petrology
553 Economic geology
620 Engineering & allied operations
621 Applied physics
622 Mining & related operations
650 Management & auxiliary services
657 Accounting
658 General management
662 Explosives, fuels technology
The most recently published books in these number ranges are located on the 1st floor (100s) and 3rd floor (300s, 500s, and 600s) of the library. Older (but often still useful) books may be in Basement Storage; you can ask a staff member at the Circulation desk to retrieve specific items for you, but patrons cannot browse in this area.
Click the link for WorldCat Discovery Advanced Search.
Click the Sign In button at the top right of the page (on a small screen, it will be in a menu button) and enter your OCU BlueLink credentials. Once you are signed in, click on My Account in the same place.
In the Checked Out tab, select the checkboxes for the items you want to renew. Click Renew Items at the top. A popup will ask you to verify that you want to renew. Click Renew. Look for the confirmation message that the item was renewed, and check for the new due date.
If you have trouble renewing, please contact the library at 405-208-5068, or email [email protected].
Cases and Materials on Oil and Gas Law by
This new edition of the popular textbook on the law of oil and gas focuses first on ownership of the resource.
The Citizen's Guide to Climate Success: Overcoming Myths that Hinder Progress by
Sometimes solving climate change seems impossibly complex, and it is hard to know what changes we all can and should make to help. This book offers hope. Drawing on the latest research, Mark Jaccard shows us how to recognize the absolutely essential actions (decarbonizing electricity and transport) and policies (regulations that phase out coal plants and gasoline vehicles, carbon tariffs). Rather than feeling paralyzed and pursuing ineffective efforts, we can all make a few key changes in our lifestyles to reduce emissions, to contribute to the urgently needed affordable energy transition in developed and developing countries.
Global and Culturally Diverse Leaders and Leadership by
Global and Culturally Diverse Leaders and Leadership explores diverse cultural leadership styles and paradigms that are dynamic, complex, globally authentic and culturally competent for the 21st century. An outstanding group of scholars considers how the different worldviews and lived experiences of leaders influence their leadership styles. They discuss several dimensions, models and initiatives for examining leadership in a global and diverse world, ultimately offering ways in which these leadership processes may be assessed and cultivated in a culturally sensitive and ecologically valid manner.
Oil & Gas Produced Water Management by
Produced water contributes to the largest volume waste stream associated with oil and gas (O&G) exploration and production (E&P) operations. It is usually a complex mixture of inorganics and organics that is formed underground and brought to the surface during O&G production. Traditionally, produced water has been considered as a waste to the O&G industry. The conventional management strategies include disposal (typically by injection into depleted wells or permitted disposal wells), recycle (direct reuse within the E&P operation), and reuse (treatment and reuse offsite for food crop irrigation, livestock watering or industrial use). The O&G industry is going through a paradigm shift, where scarcity of water, economics of water management, declining oil costs, and increasing focus on environmental and ecological stewardship are shifting the focus toward integrated water management in E&P operations. Water is no longer a problem to be delegated to a third-party disposal or treatment vendor, but is becoming a cornerstone of O&G production.
Saudi America: The Truth about Fracking and How It's Changing the World by
The technology of fracking in shale rock -- particularly in the Permian Basin in Texas -- has transformed America into the world's top producer of both oil and natural gas. The U.S. is expected to be "energy independent" and a "net exporter" in less than a decade, a move that will upend global politics, destabilize Saudi Arabia, crush Russia's chokehold over Europe, and finally bolster American power again. Or will it?
