Reference Help Available Today:
The LLL has 4 main categories of materials in its collection, all organized by Library of Congress (LoC) Classification.
see below for a breakdown of each category of call number, and lists of call numbers to browse for your instrument.
The M-Class is the largest section of the LLL's collection, as it designates music scores. All printed music scores, whether for study or performance, have a call number that begins with the letter M. Every item on the tall shelves in the music library has a Class M call number.
Scroll down to see a breakdown of an LoC call number. ↓
ML stands for Music Literature, which means any book that is about music, but is not explicitly printed music or pedagogical. ML includes research books, biographies, histories, even libretti of operas and musicals. The music literature in the LLL is limited to the Reference Collection (located right inside the front entrance), and selected materials in the Music Education Resource Room.
The majority of the library's music literature is housed at the main campus library, Dulaney-Browne. DBL organizes its books using the Dewey Decimal System, so to find the music section there, go to the 3rd floor, and look for numbers 780 - 792.
MT is for music education materials. (Think: "Music Teaching"). MT-Class is for books on pedagogy, music textbooks, teaching guides, and method books. This includes the Piano Pedagogy Collection: an entire section of method books for every level of piano student.
Most MT materials are shelved in the Music Education Resource Room. The Piano Pedagogy Collection is shelved in the book stacks on the west side of the library.
Sound recordings--CDs and LPs-- don't have call numbers like the rest of the library does. Instead, they are given a specific Accession Number, meaning all our sound recordings have their own number assigned in the order that the library acquired it.
Our recording collection is not browsable. Instead, search the catalog, find the number of the sound recording(s) you wish to check out, and give the number(s) to LLL staff so they can retrieve them from our media storage behind the front desk.
Call Number for
JS Bach: B118
Call Number for
Bela Bartók: B292
Call Number for
LV Beethoven: B415
Call Number for
Vincenzo Bellini: B444
Call Number for
Alban Berg: B493
Call Number for
Hector Berlioz: B469 or B515
Call Number for
Leonard Bernstein: B531
Call Number for
Georges Bizet: B625
Call Number for
Johannes Brahms: B813
Call Number
Benjamin Britten: B862
Call Number for
Frederic Chopin: C549
Call Number for
Aaron Copland: C784
Call Number for
Claude Debussy: D289
Call Number for
Gaetano Donizetti: D683
Call Number for
Antonin Dvorak: D988
Call Number for
George Gershwin: G381
Call Number for
Charles Gounod: G711
Call Number for
GF Handel: H236
Call Number for
Joseph Haydn: H415
Call Numbers for
Charles Ives: I94 or I95
Call Number for
Gustav Mahler: M214
Call Number for
Jules Massenet: M415
Call Number for
Claudio Monteverdi: M781
Call Number for
WA Mozart: M939
Call Number for
Francis Poulenc: P874
Call Number for
Sergei Prokofiev: P964
Call Number for
Giacomo Puccini: P977
Call Number for
Sergei Rachmaninoff: R119
Call Number for
Maurice Ravel: R252
Call Number for
Richard Rodgers: R691
Call Number for
Gioachino Rossini: R835
Call Number for
Arnold Schoenberg : S365
Call Number for
Franz Schubert: S384
Call Number for
Robert Schumann: S392
Call Number for
Dmitri Shostakovich: S559
Call Number for
Jean Sibelius: S563
Call Number for
Stephen Sondheim: S698
Call Number for
Igor Stravinsky: S913
Call Number for
Johann Strauss: S9116
Call number for
Richard Strauss: S912
Call Number for
Pyotr Tchaikovsky: T249
Call Number for
Vaughan Williams: V371
Call Number for
Giuseppe Verdi ​​​: V484
Call Number for
Richard Wagner: W134
Flute Studies and methods: MT340 - MT348
Flute music:
Solo: M60 - M64
Flute and piano: M240 - M242
Transcriptions: M243 - M244
Flute duets: M288 - M289
Flute and orchestra: M1020 - M1021
Oboe Studies and methods
(Oboe Family): MT360 - MT379
Oboe music:
Solo: M65 - M69
Oboe and piano: M245 - M246
Transcriptions: M245, M247
Oboe duets: M288 - M289
Oboe and orchestra: M1022 - M1023
Horn Studies and methods
(Horn Family): MT420 - MT432
Horn music:
Solo: M80 - M84
Horn and piano: M255 - M259
(including transcriptions)
Horn duets: M288 - M289
Horn and orchestra: M1028 - M1029
Clarinet Studies and methods: MT380 - MT388
Clarinet music:
Solo: M70 - M74
Clarinet and piano: M248 - M252
Clarinet duets: M288 - M289
Clarinet and orchestra: M1024 - M1025
Bassoon Studies and methods
(Bassoon family): MT400-MT415
Bassoon music:
Solo: M75 - M79
Bassoon and piano: M253 - M254 (including transcriptions)
Bassoon duets: M288 - M289
Bassoon and orchestra: M1026 - M1027
Trumpet Studies and methods: MT440 - MT448
Trumpet music:
Solo: M85 - M87
Transcriptions: M88 - M89
Trumpet and piano: M260 - M261
Trumpet duets: M288 - M289
Trumpet and orchestra: M1030 (cadenzas M1030.5)
Trumpet and string orchestra: M1130
Saxophone Studies and methods: MT500 - MT508
Saxophone music:
Solo: M105 - M107
Transcriptions: M108 - M109
Saxophone and piano: M268 - M269
Saxophone duets: M288 - M289
Saxophone and orchestra: M1034.S4
Saxophone and string orchestra: M1134.S4
Guitar Studies and methods: MT580 - MT588
Guitar music:
Solo: M125 - M127
Transcriptions: M128 - M129
Guitar and piano: M276 - M277
Guitar duets: M292 - M293
Guitar and orchestra: M1037.4 .G8
Guitar and string orchestra: M1137.4 .G8
Harp Studies and methods: MT539 - MT559
Harp music:
Solo: M115 - M117
Transcriptions: M118 - M119
Harp and piano: M272 - M273
Harp and orchestra: M1036 - M1037
Harp and string orchestra: M1136 - M1137
Piano Studies and methods
(Keyboard family): MT220 - MT258
Piano music:
Solo: M20 - M39
Piano duets: M200 - M244
Trios: M310 - M344
Quartets: M410 - M449
Piano and orchestra: M1010 - M1111
Violin Studies and methods: MT260 - MT279
Violin music:
Solo: M40 - M42
Transcriptions: M43 - M44
Violin and piano: M217 - M221
Violin duets: M286 - M287
Violin and orchestra: M1012 - M1013
Violin and string orchestra: M1112 - M1113
Viola Studies and methods: MT280 - MT298
Viola music:
Solo: M45 - M47
Transcriptions: M48 - M49
Viola and piano: M224 - M228
Viola duets: M286 - M287
Viola and orchestra: M1014 - M1015
Viola and string orchestra: M1114 - M1115
Cello Studies and methods: MT300 - MT318
Cello music:
Solo: M50 - M52
Transcriptions: M53 - M54
Cello and piano: M229 - M236
Cello duets: M286 - M287
Cello and orchestra: M1016 - M1017
Cello and string orchestra: M1116 - M1117
The image shows a basic breakdown of what information is contained in an LoC call number
The first letter tells us what type of material this is. M=music score
The next number tells us what kind of score. 1500s are for full orchestral scores of stage works. See the other tabs for more categories
The next set of letters and numbers tell us about the composer of the music. The V is the first letter of the composer's last name, and the following numbers signify the next few letters of the composer's last name.
The next set follows the same system, but for the title. T is the first letter of the first word of the title, and the numbers after signify the letters after "T."
Finally, the last number tells us the publication date.
| 6 - 100 | Solo Instruments |
| 200 | Duets |
| 300 | Trios |
| 400 | Quartets |
| 500 | Quintets |
| 600 | Sextets |
| 700 | Septets |
| 800 | Octets |
| 900 | Nonnets |
| 1000 | Orchestra |
| 1500 | Full Scores |
| 1503 | Piano/Vocal reductions |
| 1507 | Anthologies |
| 1508 | Vocal Selections |
| 1619 | Art Song Collections |
| 1620 | Art Song Cycles |
| 1630 | Popular Music |
| 2000 | Choral Music |
