Reference Help Available Today:
ebook on EBSCOHOST
Reference text that chronicles more than 250 years of musical theatre history, from the genres beginnings in the 19th century to the first Broadway season of the 21st.
Volume 12. ebook on EBSCOHost
This volume, on the music of Sub-Saharan Africa, features a wide range of entries and in-depth essays. All entries conclude with a bibliography, discographical references and discography, with additional information on sheet music listings and visual recordings.
ebook on EBSCOHOST
Through a series of unique chapters from authors working at the forefront of music education, this book explores the ways in which an international group of music educators each approach popular music education
ebook on EBSCOHost
Provides the first systematic analysis of the most important themes and concepts in the field, combining research in religious studies, theology, critical musicology and sociology.
ebook on EBSCOHost
Drawing on extensive research and exclusive interviews, this richly illustrated reference work covers the music, songwriters and performers who contributed to the genre of classic Carolina beach music from 1940 to 1980.
ebook on EBSCOHost
Designed for practicing conductors and directors, students and teachers, it is an account of the complete choral output of the most significant composers of this genre throughout history.
ebook on EBSCOHost
This comprehensive text contains roughly 200 entries and includes a chronology, discussion of themes in Latin American music, and 37 biographical sidebars of significant musicians and performers.
ebook of all volumes on Oxford Reference
Fourth edition.Covers all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to 2009,
ebook on EBSCOHost
Drawing generously from four centuries of ariette, Lieder and mélodies, Exploring Art Song Lyrics embraces the finest of the literature and presents the repertoíre with unprecedented clarity and detail.
ebook on EBSCOHost
A reference guide to the vast array of art song literature and composers from Latin America, this book introduces the music of Latin America from a singer's perspective and provides a basis for research into the songs of this richly musical area of the world
ebook on EBSCOHost
Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire continues to be the go-to source for piano performers, teachers, and students. Featuring information for more than 2,000 composers, the fourth edition includes enhanced indexes. The new "Hinson" will be an indispensable guide for many years to come.
ebook on EBSCOHost
A comprehensive, annotated resource of solo repertoire for the horn documents in detail the rich catalogue of original solo compositions for the instrument.
ebook on EBSCOHost
Contains a chronology, an introduction, an appendix, and an extensive bibliography, with a dictionary section that has over 1000 cross-referenced entries on Broadway shows, composers, playwrights, directors, producers, designers, actors, and theatres.
ebook on EBSCHost
The Historical Dictionary of Popular Music contains a chronology, an introduction, an appendix, and an extensive bibliography, with over 1000 cross-referenced entries on major figures across genres, definitions of genres, technical innovations and surveys of countries and regions.
ebook on EBSCOHost
Contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography, with a dictionary section that has more than 800 cross-referenced entries on major types of music, composers, key religious figures, significant places, and important musical compositions.
ebook on EBSCOHost
Olson offers an easy-to-read, fresh perspective on the remarkably diverse musical genre of art song, surveying for readers such topics as the development of song, the elements that make up song, and the art of listening to song.
ebook on EBSCOHost
No detailed description available for "Performing Music in the Age of Recording".
ebook on EBSCOHost
Written for students of voice, piano, and theory and for all singers and accompanists, Poetry into Song establishes a framework for the analysis of song based on a process of performing, listening, analyzing, and performing again.
ebook on EBSCOHost
Integrating helpful commentary on the scope and usefulness of specific items, this accounts for the rapid growth in new editions of standard works, in fields such as ethnomusicology, performance practice, women in music, popular music, education, business, and music technology.
ebook on EBSCOHost
The leitmotif, having reached a point of particular forcefulness in the music of Wagner, has remained a popular compositional device. Analyzing both concert music and film music, this book explains what the leitmotif is and establishes it as the union of two aspects: the thematic and the associative.
Musicology faculty have collaborated with the library to create a permanent Musicology Reserve. See the Reference Section of the LLL for print reserve titles, and see below for the digital Musicology Reserves.
Follow the linked titles in the catalog to access the ebooks.
*titles from archive.org may not be available
ebook on EBSCOHost
With humorous, lively prose, Professor Shore teaches you to master the five most crucial skills you need to succeed: how to read, write, speak, act, and research at a higher level. Each chapter in this no-nonsense guide outlines a unique approach to acquiring a skill and then demonstrates how to enhance it. Through these concrete, practical methods, Grad School Essentials will save you time, elevate the quality of your work, and help you to earn the degree you seek."-- publisher's note
ebook on EBSCOHost
Through multiple thematic'histories', Millie Taylor and Adam Rush take readers on a series of journeys that include the art form's European and American origins, African American influences, negotiations arounddiversity, national identity, and the globalisation of the form, as well as revival culture, censorship and the place of social media inthe 21st century.-- publisher's note
ebook on Archive.org
This book explores the show's complex messages and demonstrates how the presentation of those messages changed throughout the creative process. Jim Lovensheimer shows how Rodgers and especially Hammerstein continually refined and softened the theme of racial intolerance until it was more acceptable to mainstream Broadway audiences.--[book jacket].
Theory faculty have collaborated with the library to create a permanent Theory Reserve. See the Reference Section of the LLL for print reserve titles, and see below for the digital Theory Reserves.
ebook on EBSCOHost
print copy available in LLL Reserves
Introducing a new theory of musical form for the analysis of instrumental music of the classical style. The book provides a broad set of principles and a comprehensive methodology for analysing phrases and themes to complete movements. Illustrated with over 250 annotated musical examples by Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven.
