Reference Help Available Today:
Key words that help in searches for Medical Practice Operations include:
The library's Discovery search finds books, ebooks, and full text articles the library owns.
An EBSCO Ebooks search limits results to ebooks from EBSCO, and can be easier to use if only ebooks will meet your needs. The search system tends to find more books than Discovery, but many seem barely related to the search terms.
The Business of Health Care section of Access Medicine focuses on patient care and service, rather than finance or practice management.
Related journal articles can also be found in Medline with Full Text, Business Source Complete, and CINAHL Complete.
Books and Journal Articles
eBooks
Journal Articles
Practice Management
Fundamentals of Medical Practice Management by
Instructor Resources: Instructor Manual and test bank. Consolidations and mergers have dramatically changed the face of the medical practice. From governance issues to information technology, today's practice managers face a host of new complexities and competing priorities that demand more robust skills and knowledge than ever before. Fundamentals of Medical Practice Management uniquely addresses the educational needs of the modern practice manager. The author, who studied under quality guru W. Edwards Deming, combines a focus on quality and excellence with an important thesis: that working together and putting people first is the best path to success in healthcare. The author argues that win-lose games and quick-fix solutions have begun to deliver diminished returns in healthcare--not only economically but emotionally and societally. Although the book delves into many practical topics, its aim is to shape the reader's mind-set for a new era of people-focused practice management. Fundamentals of Medical Practice Management covers these areas and more: * Information technology and management * Regulatory issues, law, and practice management * Strategic planning, project management, and marketing * Third-party payers and revenue cycle * Human resources management * Quality and emergency management This book will appeal to a wide range of learners, including those in organizational programs, undergraduate and master of health administration programs, and practice management certificate programs. Its insights will not only prepare those new to the field but also help current practice managers to retool and refocus.
Practice Management for Healthcare Professionals by
Healthcare remains a field of growth within the US and abroad, according to the US Bureau of Labor Statistics. As the youngest baby boomers continue to ascent in age, the need to employ qualified health care personnel to both prevent and treat medical issues increases. There will be continued substantial growth in the healthcare field from practitioners to operations personnel including administration and technology. To that end, many practitioners to not want to work in hospitals and clinics, as pay at these locations is limited, and many such as SSM Healthcare place compensatory values on pay. Therefore, many will venture on their own, but herein lies the issue--many medical programs and schools place so much emphasis on symptoms and cures, there is very little training for practitioners that want to operate their own practice.
Business of Medical Practice by
Praise for the previous edition: This comprehensive multi-authored text contains over 450 pages of highly specific and well-documented information that will be interest to physicians in private practice, academics, and in medical management. . . Chapters are] readable, concise yet complete, and well developed. I could have used a book like this in the past, I will certainly refer to it frequently now." 4 stars Carol EH Scott-Conner, MD, PhD, MBA American College of Physician Executives Does Health 2.0 enhance or detract from traditional medical care delivery, and can private practice business models survive? How does transparent business information and reimbursement data impact the modern competitive healthcare scene? How are medical practices, clinics, and physicians evolving as a result of rapid health- and non-health-related technology change? Does transparent quality information affect the private practice ecosystem? Answering these questions and more, this newly updated and revised edition is an essential tool for doctors, nurses, and healthcare administrators; management and business consultants; accountants; and medical, dental, business, and healthcare administration graduate and doctoral students. Written in plain language using nontechnical jargon, the text presents a progressive discussion of management and operation strategies. It incorporates prose, news reports, and regulatory and academic perspectives with Health 2.0 examples, and blog and internet links, as well as charts, tables, diagrams, and Web site references, resulting in an all-encompassing resource. It integrates various medical practice business disciplines-from finance and economics to marketing to the strategic management sciences-to improve patient outcomes and achieve best practices in the healthcare administration field. With contributions by a world-class team of expert authors, the third edition covers brand-new information, including: The impact of Web 2.0 technologies on the healthcare industry Internal office controls for preventing fraud and abuse Physician compensation with pay-for-performance trend analysis Healthcare marketing, advertising, CRM, and public relations eMRs, mobile IT systems, medical devices, and cloud computing and much more
Financial Management
Financial Management of the Medical Practice by
An invaluable tool designed for successful financial management and planning in the medical practice, Financial Management of the Medical Practice, third edition, simplifies the financial planning process while establishing a foundation for making informed decisions in developing and maintaining financial systems to ensure a profitable practice. Financial Management of the Medical Practice, applies best practices, identifies current trends, and examines savvy processes that will enable you to gain greater control of your practices financial performance even in the midst of health care reform and economic downturn. Organized in two sections, the first part provides both practical and operational financial management guidelines including controlling expenses, establishing internal controls and safeguards to avoid fraud, developing and maintaining a budget, as well as step-by-step process to ensure revenue maximization. Section two focuses on strategic aspects of financial management, such as alignment strategies, merging practices, capitalization, valuations, compensation and ancillary services. Additionally, this book is a valuable educational resource as you determine the most appropriate models and methods to be financially profitable.
Financial and Business Management for the Doctor of Nursing Practice by
Awarded second place in the 2013 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Advanced Practice Nursing category "Finally, a definitive financial management book geared to nursing professionals who need to know health care finance in non-CPA terms. Dr. Waxman has organized excellent authors who are knowledgeable about their topic and address the issues using real-life examples that make sense to nursing professionals√ I am thrilled to see that] Dr. Waxman has used her knowledge and skills in producing a book that has been on my to-do list for years." -Roxanne Spitzer, PhD, MBA, RN, FAAN Editor in Chief, Nurse Leader Now more than ever, nurse leaders must be proficient in understanding the financial aspects of health care. This unique text, designed specifically for the DNP course in health care economics and finance, is the only book to embed economic and financial concepts in the context of nursing practice and nursing care systems. It offers a practical approach to business, finance, economics, and health policy that is designed to foster sound business and leadership skills within our complex health care system√>=skills that will enable the DNP graduate to improve the quality of health care delivery while reducing costs and improving outcomes. Key Topics Covered: Economics of health care Insurance coverage Reimbursement Policy Budgeting Strategic planning Quality Data analysis Ethics Entrepreneurship Marketing Business plan development Project management Grant writing Teaching financial management Global health Key Features: Offers multiple real-life examples Examines the economic and financial implications of evidence-based practice and quality improvement by focusing on ambulatory and acute care clinical research and quality initiatives Enables students to understand the cost of care as it relates to the quality of care and ethics Includes special section on finance for independent practitioners Incorporates critical thinking questions for students at different levels Addresses the required competencies designated in the AACN Essentials of Doctoral Education for Advanced Nursing Practice, as well as those set forth by the AONE
Billing and Coding
Buck's the next step : advanced medical coding and auditing, by 
Risk Adjustment Documentation and Coding by
Risk adjustment practices consider chronic diseases as predictors of future healthcare needs and expenses. Detailed documentation and compliant diagnosis coding are critical for proper risk adjustment. Risk Adjustment Documentation & Coding provides: Risk adjustment parameters to improve documentation related to severity of illness and chronic diseases. Code abstraction designed to improve diagnostic coding accuracy without causing financial harm to the practice or health facility. The impact of risk adjustment coding-also called hierarchical condition category (HCC) coding-on a practice should not be underestimated. More than 75 million Americans are enrolled in risk-adjusted insurance plans. This population represents more than 20% of those insured in the United States. Insurance risk pools under the Affordable Care Act include risk adjustment. CMS has proposed expanding audits on risk adjustment coding. Meticulous diagnostic documentation and coding is key to accurate risk-adjustment reporting. This book will help align the industry though an objective compilation and presentation of risk adjustment documentation and coding issues, guidance, and federal resources. Features and Benefits: Five chapters delivering an overview of risk adjustment, common administrative errors, best practices, topical review of clinical documentation improvement and coding for risk adjustment alphabetized by HCC group, and guidance for development of internal risk adjustment coding policies. Six appendices offering mappings, tabular information, and training tools for coders and physicians that include an alphanumeric mapping of ICD-10-CM codes to HCCs and RxHCCs and information about Health and Human Services HCCs versus Medicare Advantage HCCs. Learning and design features: Vocabulary terms highlighted within the text and conveniently defined at the bottom of the page. Advice/Alert Notes" that highlight important advice from the ICD-10-CM Guidelines for Coding and Reporting. Key Coding Concepts" that offer the advice published in ICD-10-CM Coding Clinic for ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS. Sidebars that detail measurements pertinent to risk adjustment seen in physician documentation, eg., cancer staging, disability status, or GFRs. Coding Tips that guide coders to the right answers (using terminology and ICD-10-CM Index and Tabular entries) or provide cautionary notes about conflicts in the official ICD-10-CM guidance. Clinical Examples that underscore key documentation issues for risk adjustment. Clinical coding examples that provide snippets or full encounter notes and codes to illustrate key issues for the HCC or RxHCC. Risk Adjustment Documentation & Coding Documentation tips highlight recommendations to physicians regarding what should be included in the medical record or how ICD-10-CM may classify specific terms. Examples that explain difficult concepts and promote understanding of those concepts as they relate to a section. call outs that provide quick facts. Extensive end-of-chapter Evaluate Your Understanding sections that include multiple-choice questions, true-or-false questions, and Internet-based exercises. Downloadable slide presentations for each chapter that cover key content and concepts. Educator resources that include two tests; a test bank containing 100 questions, case studies, and answers with rationales; and a mock risk adjustment certification exam with 150 questions.
Physician Practice Billing from a to Z by
Physician Practice Billing From A to Z Charlotte L. Kohler, RN, CPA, CVA, CRCE-I, CPC, ACS, CHBC and Kohler Healthcare Consulting, Inc., associates Darrin Cornwell, CRCS-I Dawn Doll Homer, CPC, CRCS-I, CDC Daria Malan, RN, LNHA, MBA, RAC-CT® John Ninos, MS, MT(ASCP), CCS Timothy Sheridan Deanna Turner, MBA, CPOC, CPC, CPC-I, CSSGB Susan Walberg, JD, MPA, CHC Physician Practice Billing From A to Z is a comprehensive, user-friendly guide to billing requirements, with particular emphasis on Medicare. This resource will help physician practice billers understand the relevant regulations, code sets, compliance issues, and myriad other factors that affect the billing process. From ABNs to ZPICs, this valuable reference book addresses, defines, and explains more than 100 topics in alphabetical order, including the following: Billing Compliance Codes--CPT and HCPCS Deductibles, Copayments, and Coinsurance Denial of Related Part B Services When Inpatient Service Denied by Medicare Evaluation and Management and Procedure--Same Day HCPCS vs. CPT: G (Temporary) Code Assignment Laboratory Billing and Modifiers -91 and -59 Local Coverage Determinations and National Coverage Determinations Locum Tenens Medically Unlikely Edits and Their Adjudication Indicators Medicare Beneficiary Numbers--Health Insurance Claim Number Prefixes and Suffixes Medicare Coverage Overview Modifier Overview National Provider Identifier Observation--Billing Codes and Requirements Rejected and Denied Claims Split/Shared Visits Who should read this book? Physician practice manager Physician office manager Physician practice administrator Practice manager Office manager Practice administrator Business manager Coding supervisor Billing supervisor Compliance officer Biller
