Reference Help Available Today:
The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management by
An expansive discussion of the most current scholarship, theory, and best-practices in the field of nonprofit leadership and management In the newly revised fifth edition of The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management, veteran nonprofit leader and researcher Dr. David Renz, along with co-authors Fredrik Andresson and William Brown, deliver a comprehensive and up-to-date account of the research, theory, and practices influencing contemporary nonprofit organizations. The book contains a particular focus on the unique challenges confronting all modern nonprofit leaders, including the concept of accountability and the pressure to demonstrate concrete outcomes and results during a time of extreme economic challenge. The editor includes original contributions from 28 of the sector's leading voices, on everything from the institutional context in which nonprofits operate to the effective recruitment, selection, retention, and management of staff and volunteers. You'll also discover: Substantial updates and revisions to rapidly evolving subjects, including diversity, equity, and inclusion at nonprofits, social entrepreneurship, and financial leadership Expansive exploration of the transformed political-legal climate and context in which nonprofits operate In-depth consideration of the management of relationships with internal and external stakeholders and constituents Perfect for leaders, educators, researchers, managers, and students of contemporary nonprofit leadership and management, The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management is an invaluable, one-stop resource for sitting board members and engaged volunteers at forward-looking nonprofit organizations.
Strategic Planning for Public and Nonprofit Organizations by
The authority on developing strategies and a strategic plan for any public and nonprofit organization Strategic Planning for Public and Nonprofit Organizations is the comprehensive, practical guide to building and sustaining a more effective organization, delivering a clear framework for designing and implementing a better strategic planning and management process. The field's leading authorities share insights, advice, helpful tools, and specific techniques, alongside a widely used and well-regarded approach to real-world planning. This revised and updated Sixth Edition contains new literature cited, new cases, more information on international public and nonprofit concerns, and a more extensive discussion of design and agile methods of strategy development and implementation. In this book, readers will learn how to: Establish an effective approach to the strategic planning process that helps clarify mission and mandates, identify issues, establish a vision, develop strategies, and implement plans Manage the process with continual learning and linking unique assets and abilities to better accomplish the central mission Create significant and enduring public value and navigate political, economic, societal, technological, environmental and legal developments, both locally and internationally Innovation and creativity produce great ideas, but these ideas must be collected and organized into an actionable plan bolstered by a coalition of support to make your organization great. Strategic Planning for Public and Nonprofit Organizations provides everything public and nonprofit leaders need to help bring all of your vision, talent, and assets together into a workable organizational strategy.
Recruiting and Managing Volunteers in Museums and Other Nonprofit Organizations by
Recruiting and Managing Volunteers in Museums is back with a highly anticipated second edition! A decade after the first edition's release, this updated handbook offers fresh insights into the world of museum volunteers and their vital contributions to the success of organizations, both big and small. In the past 10 years, the world has undergone significant changes, and museum volunteer programs have had to adapt and evolve to keep up. The second edition is the perfect tool for anyone looking to start, maintain, revamp, or restart their museum's volunteer program. The second edition offers new approaches to engaging community members in your organization and bringing diverse groups of volunteers into any department at your institution. Additionally, it provides practical advice on how to plan for and include volunteers in building a sustainable and exciting future for your museum. Whether you're a seasoned volunteer manager or new to the field, this book offers valuable insights and strategies to help you navigate the ever-changing landscape of museum volunteer management. With Recruiting and Managing Volunteers in Museums Second Edition, you'll be equipped to create a thriving volunteer program that benefits your museum and its visitors for years to come.
Cooperation Between Companies and Non-Profit Organizations by
This book describes how cooperation between companies and non-profit organizations can be successfully structured. Companies want and need to take on more social responsibility, and joint projects with non-profit organizations are therefore more in demand than ever. This is not about maximizing profits through greenwashing or token commitments, but about serious corporate social responsibility projects and purpose strategies that strengthen the reputation on both sides. This requires a structured, transparent approach from the outset. The authors explain the theoretical basis and provide practical guidance on how the initiation of cooperation projects can lead to a credible and sustainable collaboration with added value for all stakeholders. An elementary part of the book is the "Code for Transparent Cooperation", a proven framework that can be applied directly in practice. A book for CSR, communication, marketing and compliance managers in companiesand non-profit organizations who strive for clear rules and an open dialogue at eye level. Anyone who acts as a credible driver of transformation would do well to operate sustainably themselves. Transparency creates credibility and reliability. The more an organization's goals shape the design of partnerships with companies, the more authentic they can appear to the outside world. This guide provides helpful tips and orientation on how to achieve coherence. Dipl.theol. Yvonne Zwick, Chairwoman of B.A.U.M. e.V. - Network for Sustainable Management, Hamburg Non-profit organizations are central pillars of our society. Especially in times of disruption and change, their performance is of increasing importance. The prerequisite for this is independence - also in cooperation with companies. This book helps companies and non-profit organizations to understand their counterparts and establish stable collaborations. Dr. Günther Lutschinger, Managing Director of Fundraising Association Austria, Vienna The time for lone wolves is over. If we are to achieve the Paris climate targets, companies must offer profitable solutions for people and the planet. It's all about: How do I tackle it? The new book by Gabriele Faber-Wiener and Bettina Gjecaj focuses in particular on partnerships with non-profit organizations and aims to prepare the ground for successful collaboration. Daniela Knieling, Managing Director respACT and Network Representative Global Compact Network Austria, Vienna Credibility, responsibility and transparency are the guarantee and basis for the sustainable development of companies. A thriving, trusting cooperation between companies and non-profit organizations helps to answer political and social questions and is a profound approach to solving complex ecological problems. Ernst Ternon, MBA MSc MSc, Head of Green Marketing, Wieselburg Campus, Wiener Neustadt University of Applied Sciences
