Skip to main content

Free/Low-Cost Legal Research on the Internet: Texas Legal Materials

Texas Legal Research Guides

For more information on Texas legal research, see the following research guides

Texas Constitution, Statutes, and Legislative Information

Texas Constitution and Statutes A searchable database of Texas' Constitution and Statutes

Texas Legislature Online Information from Texas State House and Senate

Guide to Texas Legislative Information explains the Texas legislative process and contains information on how to find various types of legislative documents. 

Southerm Methodist University School of Law has a research guide on Texas legislative history.

Texas Fact Book, published every two years by the Legislative Budget Board of the Texas Legislature, contains contact information for legislators and state agencies. It also includes statistics on population, state spending, and exports.

Executive Branch

Texas Court Decisions and Materials

Texas Courts Online has many Texas legal documents available to the public such as:

   Supreme Court of Texas dockets and opinions

   Texas Courts of Appeals dockets and opinions

   Texas Court of Criminal Appeals dockets and opinions

Texas Ethics Commission's website contains Ethics Advisory Opinions since 1992.

Texas Legal Research Guides

Texas Flag

 

For a more detailed discussion of Texas Legal Research consult the Texas Legal Research LibGuide.

Secondary Sources

Voices for the Defense

The Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association’s monthly publication, Voice for the Defense, is available at http://www.voiceforthedefenseonline.com/

 

 

 

The Handbook of Texas Online

The Handbook of Texas is a multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture.

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271