Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Native American Law: Subscription Databases

Overview

The library has numerous subscriptions to databases that may be beneficial to anyone researching Native American law. Among the most popular subscription databases are HeinOnline and Westlaw. Both of these databases offer a wide array of research possibilities in the field of Native American law. Students may access the databases through this libguide or from the law library's database page

Westlaw

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

West offers numerous resources for researching Native American law. Simply by using the search term "Native American Law" in the Westlaw Search box, one can find an entire library dedicated to Native American legal research with both primary and secondary resources. Also included in West's collection is the Oklahoma Tribal Court Reports, which contains opinions issued by one of the CFR or tribal courts in Oklahoma, including the tribal courts, Courts of Indian Appeals, and Courts of Indian Offenses. Coverage of select cases beginning in 1979. Access requires Westlaw password.

HeinOnline

HeinOnline's American Indian Law Collection is a wonderful source for Indian Law with more than 700 unique titles and 750,000 pages dedicated to American Indian Law, this collection includes an expansive archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence. This library also features rare compilations edited by Felix S. Cohen that have never before been accessible online.  Picture Source: heinonline.org

Law Library Microform Consortium

 

Provides full text access to documents related to the U.S. Federal Executive, Judicial, and Legislative branches. Follow this link.

Points to Remember

To view all of the databases available through the library, simply go to the Law Library's Databases Page for an alphabetical listing of all the available resources. 

GoogleScholar Search

Google Scholar Search

JSTOR

A digitized archive of the back files of selected scholarly journals. JSTOR provides access to materials in African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, General Science, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, & Statistics. Follow this link for a Native American search on JSTOR to research scholarly journals on a variety of topics concerning Native Americans and their culture.

Project Muse

 

 

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing full-text online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE provides full-text access to current content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Follow this link to begin researching a variety of journals.  

ProQuest Congressional

Index of legislative information, including congressional publications from 1789 to the present, legislative histories for public laws dating back to 1970, testimony from congressional hearings, bill histories, the Congressional Record and Federal Register, Congressional Research Service reports, and information about congressional members and committees. Follow this link.  

LexisNexis

A collection of databases are available from LexisNexis, covering a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference databases.

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271