Skip to main content

Oil & Gas Law Research: Oklahoma

Oklahoma Agency & Association Pages

The Oklahoma Independent Petroleum Association represents "more than 2,500 individuals and companies from Oklahoma's oil and natural gas industry." The organization's website provides the organization's comments regarding various federal and state regulations, news archives, and a business directory listing the members of the association.

The Oklahoma Corporation Commission's mission is "to provide information, permitting, investigation, and compliance services to the oil and gas industry, mineral interests, landowners, and the general public so together [they] can develop the oil and gas resources of the state in a fair and orderly manner while protecting the environment and and ensuring public safety."

The Oklahoma Marginal Well Commission was created by the Oklahoma legislature and is mandated to collect data about operating marginal wells in the state and to issue reports to the Governor and to the public. The Commission's website offers valuable links to other important Oil and Gas regulation resources and Associations.

The Mid-Continent Oil & Gas Association of Oklahoma is a lobby group that works in the Oklahoma State Capitol. The Association's mission is to advocate the "development of an environment that enables the oil and gas industry and related businesses to grow and prosper through responsible development of Oklahoma's natural resources." The website offers useful facts and statistics about oil and gas.

Oklahoma News & Reports

Daily drilling and completion reports as well as crude and natural gas prices are can be found on NewsOK.com by clicking on the link to the "Drilling Reports" under the "Energy" tab.

OK Energy Today is a website that is completely dedicated to the Oklahoma energy industry. It is daily updated with articles and posts over topics regarding oil & gas, wind, solar, electricity, and coal.

Oklahoma Primary Authority

Oklahoma laws pertaining to Oil and Gas can be found in Oklahoma Statutes title 52. This can be found in print in the Chickasaw Nation Law Library in the Oklahoma Collection,  KFO 1230 .O52. Online, Oklahoma Statute title 52 can be easily accessed on the Oklahoma Supreme Court Network (OSCN) by selecting the "Legal Research Tab" tab and then clicking the link to the Oklahoma Statutes Citationized.

The Oklahoma Corporation Commission is vested with enforcing laws and promulgating rules pertaining to: oil & gas exploration; underground injection, disposal, and remediation; construction of certain pipelines; and other specific oil & gas issues. Oklahoma laws pertaining to the OCC's authority can be found in Oklahoma Statutes title 17 §§ 51, et seq. This can be found in print in the Chickasaw Nation Law Library in the Oklahoma Collection, at KFO 1230 .O52. Online, Oklahoma Statute title 52 can be easily accessed on the Oklahoma Supreme Court Network (OSCN) by selecting the "Legal Research Tab" tab and then clicking the link to the Oklahoma Statutes Citationized. Regulations promulgated by the OCC are located in the Oklahoma Administrative Code title 165. This can be accessed online on the Oklahoma Secretary of State website by selecting "Administrative Rules" tab and then clicking the "view code" link under "Online Services."

Oklahoma Title Standards

The Oklahoma Title Examination Standards are codified at Oklahoma Statutes Title 16 §§ 1.1, et seq. These standards help practitioners know if title to real estate is marketable. This can be found in print in the OCU Law Library on the first floor, north wing, at KFO 1230 .O52. Online, Oklahoma Statute title 52 can be easily accessed on the Oklahoma Supreme Court Network (OSCN) by selecting the "Legal Research Tab" tab and then clicking the link to the Oklahoma Statutes Citationized. Also, the Oklahoma Bar Association annually publishes the Oklahoma Title Examination Standards Handbook, which is complete with the codified standards and commentary. A copy of the Handbook is available by clicking the link to "2013 Oklahoma Title Examination Standards Handbook" on www.eppersonlaw.com.

OBA Energy CLEs

Continuing Legal Educations regarding the energy industry can be purchased on the Oklahoma Bar Association website by clicking on the "CLE" link under the "Members" tab, and then clicking on "Archived Programs" and choosing either the "Energy and Natural Resources Law" or "Environmental & Energy Law" links under the "Category" tab.

Practitioner Resources

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271