Reference Help Available Today:
Here are a selection of suggested books, ebooks, websites, and journals (for articles) to help you get started on your research for assignments. There are also links to search results in WorldCat Discovery for topics specific to your courses.
If you don't find what you need, try searching keywords on your topic in PsycINFO, or go to the Articles tab to search in other recommended Psychology databases. Use Advanced Search and select "Subject" or "Title" fields in which to search your keywords.
PsycINFO is the most comprehensive database of psychology articles and other sources from the 19th century to the present. Use it to find full-text, peer-reviewed articles on a topic of your choice:
Remember to limit your search results by checking "Linked Full Text" and "Peer Reviewed." You may also narrow the range of years that you search by sliding the "Publication Date" bar:
The PsycINFO "Thesaurus" is also a very helpful tool for finding the correct search terms for your topic:
To search only for specific types of studies, such as Empirical Study, Quantitative Study, or Qualitative Study, try using the Methodology filter in PsycINFO (available in Advanced Search):
Handbook of Research Methods in Social and Personality Psychology
Research Design: Quantitative, Qualitative, Mixed Methods, Arts-based, and Community-based Participatory Research Approaches by
With a new chapter on the literature review, this accessible step-by-step guide to using the five major approaches to research design is now in a thoroughly revised second edition. The prior edition's user-friendly features are augmented by a new companion website with worksheets keyed to each chapter. For each approach, the text presents a template for a research proposal and explains how to conceptualize and fill in every section. Interdisciplinary research examples draw on current events and social justice issues. Unique coverage includes hot topics--replication studies, data sharing, and preregistration; tailoring proposals to different audiences; and more. Terminology commonly used in each approach is identified and key moments of ethical decision making are flagged. The book includes a general introduction to social research, an in-depth discussion of ethics, and a chapter on how to begin a research study. New to This Edition *New or expanded discussions of theory and literature in quantitative research, replication studies, preregistration of research, the critical paradigm in qualitative research, mixed methods research, approaching different kinds of organizations in community-based participatory research, and more. *Chapter on the literature review, including the ethics of citational practices. *Companion website with worksheets to aid in learning and practicing each chapter's key concepts. *Updated examples, references, and recommended readings throughout. Pedagogical Features *Multiple "Review Stops" in each chapter--quick quizzes with answer keys. *End-of-chapter writing exercises, research activities, and suggested resources. *Bolded key terms and an end-of-book glossary. *Boxed tips from experts in the respective approaches. *Pointers to downloadable worksheets throughout the chapters. *Author-created PowerPoints and chapter tests with answer keys available to instructors using the book in a course.
Cognition, Evolution, and Behavior
The Oxford Handbook of Social Cognition by 
Psychology: Six Perspectives by 
Statistics Translated: A Step-by-Step Guide to Analyzing and Interpreting Data by 
APA Dictionary of Statistics and Research Methods
A History of Personality Psychology
Personality 101
