Skip to main content

Chickasaw Nation Law Library at Oklahoma City University School of Law: Borrowing Materials

Circulation Services

Law students, faculty, and other groups associated with the university may check out books from the library. Local attorneys and law school alumni also have borrowing privileges. Members of the public may not borrow materials, but may use items inside the library or use one of our copiers or scanners.

Circulating materials may be checked out at the circulation desk or at the self check station. This station is located north of the circulation desk.

Some items may only be checked out at the circulation desk:

  • Reserves
  • DVDs
  • Items on Hold
  • Interlibrary Loans

Study Aids

Current Study Aids including Examples and Explanations, Hornbooks, Nutshells, and the Understanding series are available for use in the library. They are shelved on both sides of the Circulation Desk.

Study Aids may be checked out by students and Visiting Scholars for 3 days with no renewals. All other patrons must use these materials in the library only. Hiding, mutilating, or destroying any materials of the library or removing any materials from the library except as authorized is a violation of 2.01 (g) of the Student Conduct Code and may be cause for disciplinary action.

Returning Law Library Materials

Law Library Materials may be returned to library staff at the circulation desk. After law library hours, students may return items to the bookdrop in the desk.

Circulation Policies

Law Students may borrow books using their StarCards (student ID) at the circulation desk or one of the self check stations. 

Item Circulation Period
General Collection 28 Days
General Collection 28 Days
Native American Collection 28 Days
Reserve (Course or Permanent) 2 Hours
Study Aids

3 days with
no renewals

Multivolume sets (Periodicals, Reporters & Digests, Looseleaf sets, etc.)

In Library Use Only

DVDs

3 Days

 

If something is checked out, Law Students may place a hold on the item. When the item is returned, you will be notified by email that the item is available.

Law Faculty may borrow books using their StarCards at the circulation desk or one of the self check stations. 

Item Circulation Period
General Collection 180 Days
General Collection 180 Days
Native American Collection 180 Days
Reserve (Course or Permanent) 14 Days
Study Aids 180 Days
Multivolume sets (Periodicals, Reporters & Digests, Looseleaf sets, etc.)

180 Days

DVDs

14 Days

If something is checked out, Law Faculty may place a hold or recall request on the item. Law Faculty may place a callslip request for any item on the shelf. You will be notified by email when the item is available.

Law Alumni and Attorneys may borrow books using their bar cards at the circulation desk. 

Item Circulation Period
General Collection 21 Days
General Collection 21 Days
Native American Collection 21 Days
Reserve (Course or Permanent) 2 Hours
Study Aids In Library Use Only
Multivolume sets (Periodicals, Reporters & Digests, Looseleaf sets, etc.) In Library Use Only
 


If something is checked out, Law Alumni may 
place a hold on the item. When the item is returned, you will be notified by email that the item is available.

If you have not checked out a book from the law library since graduating or within the last 5 years, click here to register as an alumni.

Non-Law Faculty and Adjuncts may borrow books using their StarCards at the circulation desk or one of the self check stations. 

Item Circulation Period
General Collection End of Semester
General Collection End of Semester
Native American Collection End of Semester
Reserve (Course or Permanent) 14 Days
Study Aids 14 Days
Multivolume sets (Periodicals, Reporters & Digests, Looseleaf sets, etc.)

End of Semester

DVDs

14 Days

 

OCU Faculty and Adjunct Faculty from non-law programs may request books, audio materials, and looseleaf materials with fewer than 3 volumes though the online catalog. Instructions for using our Callslip service can be found here. Items requested through Callslip will be delivered through interoffice mail.

Visiting Scholars may borrow books using their StarCards at the circulation desk or one of the self check stations. 

Item Circulation Period
General Collection 180 Days
General Collection 180 Days
Native American Collection 180 Days
Reserve (Course or Permanent) 14 Days
Study Aids 3 Days
Multivolume sets (Periodicals, Reporters & Digests, Looseleaf sets, etc.)

180 Days

DVDs

14 Days


If something is checked out, Visiting Scholars may 
place a hold or recall request on the item. When the item is returned, you will be notified by email that the item is available.

OCU Undergraduate and Graduate students may borrow books using their StarCards at the circulation desk. 

Item Circulation Period
General Collection 21 Days
General Collection 21 Days
Native American Collection 21 Days
Reserve (Course or Permanent) 2 Hours
Study Aids In Library Use Only
Multivolume sets (Periodicals, Reporters & Digests, Looseleaf sets, etc.) In Library Use Only

OCU undergraduate and graduate students may request books, audio materials, and looseleaf materials with fewer than 3 volumes though the online catalog. Instructions for using our Callslip service can be found here. Items requested through Callslip will be delivered to the Dulaney-Browne Library for pickup.

Loading

Scanning or Copying Non-Circulating Materials

Many items in the library are non-circulating or have short circulation periods. Here are just some of the items that may not leave the library:

  • Reference Materials
  • Reserve Materials
  • Multivolume sets - hardbound or looseleaf

Other items, such as rare or fragile books or archival materials may not be viewed without the permission of Access Services librarians.

Copiers and scanners are located north of the circulation desk near the stairwell. Scanning to email or a USB is free. Copying is $0.10 per page. Law students are awarded a copy subsidy on their StarCards each semester that they are enrolled in classes. Attorneys, Alumni, and public patrons may borrow a copy card from the Circulation Desk.

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271