Skip to main content

Oklahoma Legal Research: Oklahoma Free Legal Resources

Free Resources

Cornell Legal Information Institute: Oklahoma Legal Materials & State Statutes by Topic
 
FastCase: access to state case law, statutes, regulations, constitutions, and court rules; it is currently provided to Oklahoma Bar Association (OBA) members without additional charge.
 
FindLaw: Oklahoma Law website contains summaries of the law in Oklahoma by topic and links to relevant statutes.
 
Fox, Darin K., Jackson, Darla & Selby, Courtney. Oklahoma Legal Research (Durham: Carolina Academic Press, 2013). (available at the Law Library)
 
Law Library of Congress Guide to Law Online: Oklahoma
 
Legal Databases: several databases, including HeinOnline, are available for free at the public computers located throughout the Law Library.
 
Oklahoma Bar Association: provides useful legal research resources and the additional public resources.
 
Oklahoma Department of Libraries Law & Legislative Reference Division: a collection of online links for legal resources in Oklahoma.
 
Oklahoma Public Legal Research System: access to the state constitution, statutes, court decisions, attorney general opinions, agency rules, & agency decisions.
 
Oklahoma State Courts Network (OSCN): access to Oklahoma cases, statutes, administrative code, court rules, case dockets, uniform jury instructions and more. It also features some federal materials, such as 10th Circuit cases and Oklahoma Federal District court cases. Most of this information can be accessed through the "Legal Research" tab, which is located at the top of the homepage.
 
The People's Law Dictionary: free online legal dictionary.
 
University of Oklahoma Law Library: Oklahoma Resources
 
West's Oklahoma Law Finder: comprehensive topical index that contains references to all Oklahoma,  federal, and general West publications, including secondary sources, case digests, statutes, forms, practice manuals, et al. (available in print at the Law Library).
summaries of Oklahoma laws as well as citations or links to relevant sections of Oklahoma's official online statutes. - See more at: http://statelaws.findlaw.com/oklahoma-law.html#sthash.imwPwqUx.dpuf

Additional Pro Se Resources

Pro se litigants are people who represent themselves in court without the assistance of an attorney. The Law Library features pro se resources including guides and handbooks for non-lawyers. In addition, public access computers in the library allow pro se litigants to access some electronic legal forms and databases.

Public patrons cannot check out books, but copies may be purchased for 10 cents a page. Patrons may borrow a Copy Card from the circulation desk and pay by cash or check. Copiers may be used to scan to a flash drive or to e-mail for free.

800 N. Harvey Oklahoma City, OK 73102 405.208.5271